A challenge of Ghana’s  Metropolitan and Municipal and District Assemblies

In the Sanitation Challenge for Ghana Metropolitan and Municipal and District Assemblies are competing to design and implement the best liquid waste management strategies for their cities, in this way transforming the livelihoods of their inhabitants.


Stage 1 of the Challenge – which concluded with the Duapa Award in June 2016 – was open for 139 prequalified Metropolitan and Municipal and District Assemblies.

21 Metropolitan and Municipal and District Assemblies from Stage 1 were requested by the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development to express interest of participation in the Stage 2 of the Sanitation Challenge for Ghana. 17 MMDAs met the minimum condition and are are currently vying for the Dignified City Award. These MMDAs comprise four metropolitan assemblies, five municipal assemblies and eight district assemblies, namely:

Metropolitan Assemblies Sekondi Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly, Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly, and Accra Metropolitan Assembly.
Municipal Assemblies Awutu Senya East Municipal Assembly, Effutu Municipal Assembly, Ejisu Juaben Municipal Assembly, Kassena Nankana Municipal Assembly, Mampong Municipal Assembly, and Savelugu-Nanton Municipal Assembly.
District Assemblies Ahanta West District Assembly, Atiwa District Assembly, Jasikan District Assembly, Kwahu East District Assembly, Nanumba North District Assembly, Offinso North District Assembly, Prestea HuniValley District Assembly, and Pru District Assembly.